Information Cancellation of Storage Media and Application
Chen Xiang-pan · Information Security and Communications Privacy · 2010
In Windows,if the conventional way is used for file deletion,Windows would first put the file into the recycle bin.In the empty of recycle bin,the operating system does not really remove the file data,but only changes the first letter of the file name into a special character,and then marks the clusters occupied by this file as idle state,and however,the data contained in the file is still on the disk.Next time,when the new file is stored on the disk,these clusters may be used by the new file,thus overwriting the original data.